How to read a record

No black box: this page describes exactly what the pipeline does, and the pipeline is the only thing that writes this site.

1. This is the state’s record, not a rating

Each state licensing agency publishes a record for the facilities it licenses. This site copies those records field by field and shows them with the date they were fetched. It computes nothing about a facility (no averages, no scores, no rankings) and adds nothing from any other source. A high or low count means whatever the state’s own definitions say it means — and nothing more.

2. Five states, five different records

The states do not publish the same fields. California’s record carries visit dates and citation counts; New York’s and Pennsylvania’s open datasets carry identity and capacity only. Rather than blend them or fill gaps, every column a state does not publish is marked “not in the state’s record” on every row for that state. The tables below name the exact source field behind each column.

3. Counts cover the state’s window, not ours

Where a state gives counts (inspection visits, complaints, citations, deficiencies), the record usually does not state the time window they cover. This site shows the count as given and links the agency’s page; the agency’s glossary is the authority on the window and on what each class of citation means.

4. Refresh and refusal

The pipeline re-fetches every state’s record monthly. A refresh that fails a state’s sanity checks (row count outside its band, a displayed value that cannot be traced to the raw record, more than 2% of rows malformed) is refused for that state and the previous record is kept, with the refusal noted in the change log. Nothing is patched by hand.

California — Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE)

Agency: California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division. Source: CDSS Community Care Licensing Facilities (ArcGIS feature layer, TYPE 740 = RESIDENTIAL-ELDERLY).

License / file no.FACILITYNUMBER
License statusSTATUS
CapacityCAPACITY
Last visit / inspectionLASTVISITDATE
Inspection visitsNBRINSPVISITS (inspection visits)
ComplaintsNBRCMPLTVISITS (complaint visits)
Citations / deficienciesTOTTYPEA + TOTTYPEB (Type A and Type B citations, as counted on the state's page)

CDSS counts visits and citations for the window its Care Facility Search covers; the API does not state the window. Type A citations are what CDSS calls the most serious class; Type B are the less serious class. This site shows the two counts separately, exactly as the state's record gives them.

The last-visit date is CDSS's LASTVISITDATE for any visit type (inspection, complaint or other).

Florida — Assisted Living Facility (ALF)

Agency: Florida Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA). Source: FloridaHealthFinder — Assisted Living Facilities comparison data (embedded in the state's page).

License / file no.FileNumber (AHCA file number)
License statusnot in the state’s record
CapacityBedCount
Last visit / inspectionnot in the state’s record
Inspection visitsnot in the state’s record
ComplaintsComplaintCount (substantiated complaints)
Citations / deficienciesDeficienciesCount, with DefClass1Count .. DefClass4Count and DefUnclassCount

AHCA's comparison record also carries SanctionCount (sanctions / final orders), FineAmount and ActiveEmergencyAction; those are shown as the state gives them. The record does not state the period the counts cover — see AHCA's glossary.

The record has no license-status field and no inspection date. Every facility in it is one AHCA lists in its ALF comparison tool; check current license status with AHCA.

New York — Adult Care Facility (Adult Home / Enriched Housing Program)

Agency: New York State Department of Health. Source: Health Facility General Information (Socrata vn5v-hh5r), Adult Home + Enriched Housing Program.

License / file no.opcert_num (operating certificate number)
License statusnot in the state’s record
CapacityCertification Information: Bed row 'Overall Capacity (AH/EHP)' measure_value; other bed types listed as given
Last visit / inspectionnot in the state’s record
Inspection visitsnot in the state’s record
Complaintsnot in the state’s record
Citations / deficienciesnot in the state’s record

The Department's open datasets carry identity, operator and certified beds. Inspection reports for adult care facilities are published only on NYS Health Profiles, which this site does not machine-read; each facility row links there.

Pennsylvania — Personal Care Home

Agency: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services. Source: Licensed Personal Care Homes Current Statewide (Socrata pqf4-d4xn).

License / file no.not in the state’s record
License statusdataset title: 'Licensed Personal Care Homes' (no per-row status field)
Capacitytotcapcty
Last visit / inspectionnot in the state’s record
Inspection visitsnot in the state’s record
Complaintsnot in the state’s record
Citations / deficienciesnot in the state’s record

The Commonwealth's open dataset is a list of currently licensed homes with capacity; it has no license number, inspection or violation fields. Inspection results live in the Department's HCSIS provider search, which returned HTTP 500 to this site's fetcher on build day.

Missouri — Assisted Living Facility / Residential Care Facility

Agency: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Section for Long-Term Care Regulation. Source: LTC DIRECTORY (Socrata fenu-sipv), level_of_care in ALF, ALF**, RCF, RCF*.

License / file no.fcilicensenumber
License statusfcilicenseeffdate / license_expiration (effective and expiration dates; no status word)
Capacitycapacity
Last visit / inspectionnot in the state’s record
Inspection visitsnot in the state’s record
Complaintsnot in the state’s record
Citations / deficienciesnot in the state’s record

The directory carries license number, effective and expiration dates, capacity, level of care and whether the facility has an Alzheimer's special care unit. Inspection and deficiency reports are not in the open dataset.

States probed and not included

These agencies were probed live on build day; each is excluded because its record could not be fetched keylessly in machine-readable form. The reason is recorded so it can be re-tested.

What this site is not

Not a rating, not a recommendation, not a substitute for reading the state’s inspection reports, and not placement, medical or legal advice. No facility is named as better or worse than another anywhere on this site.

Last fetch: 2026-09-06. Facilities in store: 13568. States refused this run: 0.